It’s been two weeks since I signed up to Emily Skye’s F.I.T programme, I did it with the best of intentions, at a time when I felt I needed it most, I was going through a very rough time in my life, I felt like everything was falling apart, I needed to get some control back, what better way to do that than to exercise, control how I wanted my body to look and feel, easier said than done!
I looked through the app over and over, always finding new excuses not to do it.  The recipes look too complicated and expensive, the exercises require equipment I can’t afford, I haven’t got time to do the rests that you’re required to have between sets.  There was always something, but actually I just wasn’t mentally in the right place to be able to push myself.

I’ve learnt over the past few weeks that everything needs to be taken a step at a time, I need achievable goals.  Rather than saying I want to lose a stupid amount of weight in 6 months, I’ve had to set myself smaller targets, my first target was to sign up and I achieved that, I shouldn’t tell myself off because ‘that’s all’ I’ve done, I need to praise myself because I’ve taken a big step towards getting fit.  My next step in this fitness story was to read other people’s stories and get some motivation, I’ve now achieved that goal too, all of a sudden I’m doing better!

This morning I was laying in bed thinking about why I couldn’t do the daily workout task that Emily had set on the app.  Then it dawned on me, why am I thinking this way, rather than telling myself I can’t do it, find ways so I can.  Before I knew it I had jumped out of bed, the exercises required weights which I can’t afford to buy right now (this was my first excuse) so I overcame that, I either found a substitute in the form of cans of chick peas or did the exercise without the weights, because I figured doing the exercise without weights is better than not doing it at all.

Before I knew it I was at the end of my bed, sweating my little heart out, doing dumb bell dead lifts with chick peas in my PJs! I struggled with the rest parts, not the bit I was expecting to struggle with! But a 2 min rest is boring and seems too long, plus I haven’t researched enough yet to know the purpose of the rest, if there is one.  I think the key here is knowledge, if I don’t have a good reason to do something I struggle to do it.

I’m currently laying on my sofa with a coffee after my great workout and then a hot shower, feeling good about taking my next small step.  I have started to use this technique in many aspects of my life, I can’t set myself up to fail a big task so I set myself up to achieve small ones.  A couple of weeks ago I needed a big clearout in my kitchen, it’s a small kitchen but it’s still a big task if done all at once, so each day I said I would clear out one cupboard, it took me about a week to finish, but I did it and felt good, if I had of set myself the task of completing the kitchen in a day, I would have felt bad for not doing it in the time frame I had set myself and then probably given up.

I haven’t quite made myself go for a run yet, but it’s something I am aiming towards, over the weekend I walked and walked til I couldn’t walk anymore, my health app on my phone is very helpful, but I should probably get a fit bit at some point, but at the moment the phone will do.

Right time to stop looking out the window at the sea and listening to seagulls whilst drinking my coffee in my dressing gown, time for the next goal, get up, get ready and start work 😊

