18th March 2017

My daughter is 10 years old and I couldn’t be more proud of her achievements, she has just raised £311 for Comic Relief, a charity that helps people living tough lives across the UK and Africa, by doing something funny for money.

Amber is a big fan of cooking, so we thought it would be good to combine her love of baking with a charity event.  She is such a compassionate little girl and cares very deeply for others.

After deciding on the type of charity event she would hold, it was time to start preparing.  Every night for a week she came home from school and made at least 3 batches of cakes a night, she was determined to do the majority of the work herself, with little input from mummy.  Towards the end of the weeks baking it was near impossible for me to help anyway as I had trapped a nerve in my back.  One night I was struggling to get off the sofa, so my daughter with her awesome sense of humour said ‘stay there mummy I need to get you something’ She ran out the room and returned with a cane that was used when I dressed as Willy Wonka one year for a chocolate party.  She said ‘here you can use this walking stick to get to the kitchen to sit on the chair, you can just read me the ingredients whilst I bake’.  We roared with laughter which I am not sure helped the pain in my back! My amazing daughter did pretty much everything on her own, of course after making sure mummy was comfortable with her feet up on another chair and a blanket.

The week before the event we set up a just giving page and were amazed by the generosity and kindness of people, before the event had event begun she had raised £135!

On the day of the bake sale the excitement was building, We got up extra early to get all the cakes out on the table ready for people to arrive.  It really did look like a proper cake shop, we were very pleased with the outcome.

We had our red noses on ready for peoples arrival and the cake sale had begun at last.  Amber was overwhelmed with people giving her more money than we were charging, the money was flowing in for charity and everyone appeared to be having a great time, as what better way to make people smile than with a cake.

Amber very confidently stood up and read her speech she had written herself that morning, all about the charity that she had chosen to support and thanking people for taking the time to listen, coming to the bake sale and for giving their donations.

The day was filled with people popping in and out and it was lovely to get people together for such a great cause.

By the end of the day Amber had raised another £131 in cash donations from selling her wonderful cakes.  However the donations kept coming even after the event.  Neighbours that couldn’t make it left donations the next day, others put more money on the just giving page and the total as said earlier is currently at £311 with the hope of even more coming in.

My one little kind hearted girl has done a fantastic job of raising so much money and hosting a brilliant charity event, most of which was done on her own, I cannot stress enough how proud I am of her.

I am sure she will make next years event even bigger and better.

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Cheryl-Jackson5

